Ups and Downs

What a mixed day today is proving to be and it’s only lunch time.

With the game, Special Enquiry Detail, being released yesterday, there was more great news this morning when Gamezebo gave it a great review (4 stars) and said some wonderful things about the story and dialogue, which was my main role on the game.  I was feeling really good and pulling together some great ideas for a few different projects.

Imagine my horror when I received a letter from a solicitor that talked of liquidation in relation to one of my clients.  It’s always bad whenever any company is forced to close down, but this particular company owed me a not inconsiderable sum of money.  I actually feel a little physically sick as a result.  Although there’s always the chance that I could get the money as part of the liquidation procedure, the likelihood is that it’s not going to happen.  If the money was there to be paid they probably wouldn’t have gone into liquidation.

I feel like screaming and shouting and kicking things, but so far I’ve made do with a lot of heavy swearing.  I’m not sure I can motivate myself to do anything constructive for the rest of the day.

6 thoughts on “Ups and Downs

  1. Congratulations on the release of Special Enquiry Detail and the good review, and commiserations on your bad news.

    If it would help, I’m sure I could do some sympathy swearing for you as well. I’m really rather good at it, being Australian 😉

  2. Thanks Rob. I enjoyed writing SED because it was a little different to what I’ve written so far.

    I’m not holding out much hope for the money, so if anything does come through it will be a bonus. No iPad for me. 😦

  3. Bought SED last night, meaning to have a little play, and because of you I stayed up to 3 in the morning!

    Beautiful game, great work.

  4. Thanks, Ben. Keeping you up until 3am is one of the best compliments ever. I can’t remember the last time a game kept me up like that. Maybe Portal.

Leave a Reply

